Can I do it? Should I do it?

Publicado: 14/04/2010 en cardio, whatever

Today I went for the final run on the week 5 of the C25K program (stands for “From couch potato to 5K”), wich is run for 20 minutes OR 3.2 km without walking. At least, I was suppousse to ran that in 20 minutes. NOT! It took me 24 long long minutes to ran the thing. And while I was crawling back home, I remembered that there’s this 6K race in my city in May 22.

Uhmmm…I said, connecting the dots in my mind. So after I finished puking showering I dive into the calendar with my trusty calculator/Iphone in hand. Apparently, I can finish the C25K program 11 days before the race if I don’t miss a workout. Meaning I would have ran three 5K  by May 11 (the last three workouts are exactly that, run 5K without walking). MEANING I’ll still have 11 days – or 5 workouts- to add that extra kilometer.

Copying the structure of the program, I could have 3 runs of 5,5K and 2 runs of 6K, being the actual race the last 6K workout.

So I asked myself: Myself, can I do it? Should I do it? Should I train for this 6K race WHILE on this very low-cal diet and WHILE having 2-3 Body Combat classes a week? And I finally determined that it would probably be something harmful to my body, that it would be too much stress in too little time, I would have a high risk of injury and an overall irresponsible act to my health. So of course I’m gonna do it!!!! Hey, if some activity has a risk of killing some of my neurons, I bet it’s fun and count me in!!!

You can follow my progress in the twitter thingy in the right bar, right here on this blog. You know, those gadgets under my pic, look at the right side of your monitor! I got this Iphone app that’s like a GPS, it records my time, speed by minute, calorie expenditure, and show you my rute in a google map thing. After every run, the app send an auto twit on the darfood account (yes, I stopped logging food cause it’s the same foods all days now).

So there! The name of the blog is getting fit, no matters the pain, right?

comentarios
  1. Of course you can do it! Just go a little bit further every time and before you know it, you’ll be there. My fiance is training for a massive relay race in Oregon come August, and he finally just made the pace and distance he’ll need to do. He got there by one day just deciding he’d tack on the last mile and he made it. (and then he was whupped, but he made it!) Tell yourself you can and will and then you’ll make it happen.

  2. Joann dice:

    You can do it!!! I know you can. It will be a great wrap up after the 6-week challenge!

  3. darnfitness dice:

    So.. I guess now I cannot say I chicken out, can I? This big shit is happening, isn’t? Guess tomorrow I got to run/train!!!!

Responder

