The birthday’s 5K event

Publicado: 02/08/2010 en cardio

I loved my birthday yesterday!! It was so weird! Me, waking up at 8:30 AM on a Sunday? And the Sunday is my birthday? And running an event? What the heck is happening to me!!! I should be sleeping all morning, and wake up with a hangover!

I learned a lot from my first event back in May. For starters, it’s very cold that early, so I must bring lots of clothing. And the thing will always start like 90 minutes later than scheduled. Bring coffee. Bring water. Once running, start slow, keep it steady, a little more speed in the last lap, sprint the final meters. Uhm.

I was there right on time, 9:30. There was 3 running (5K, 10K, 21K) and 2 duathlons events. We were about 600 human beings. At 10:40 AM, they all started at once… except the 5K. We started at 12:15 PM, it was like the “kid’s race” ¬¬

It went smooth. I didn’t walk at all. I sprint the final meters trying to beat a dude, I passed him, then he passed me back, then we were both sprinting like hell and the people at the goal was cheering us!!! But he beat me at the end LOL No medal for me, but they did give a pin.

Only 4 people finished after me. But this are people from the YMCA we’re talking about. Everyone there was a fitness machine.

I’m happy I got to run this event. Running this 5K the day of my 30th birthday was a statement. I’m starting the third decade of my life with a new lifestyle, full of good eating and exercising and being fit (or working towards it, anyway).

But I must say, I’m done with the 5K events. I wont run another one in my life, if I can help it. Of course, that doesn’t mean that I’m done running. Now, if you excuse, I must go train for my first 10K!

comentarios
  1. Wes dice:

    Hey man, congrats on the run! And good for you for doing it! You’ll never see me up at 8.30 in morning on a Sunday… LOL! And happy birthday!

  2. darnfitness dice:

    Thanks you! But may I give you a little word of advice… NEVER SAY NEVER. This fitness thing creeps out on you and the next thing you know, you’re up at 8:30 AM on a Sunday for a run! It’s like a disease! Quick, I need a vaccine!

  3. Anónimo dice:

    Dude, had been trying to comment on your blog for the last hour, just kept getting error messages…

  4. SO awesome!!!! Congratulations and feliz cumpleaños, young darnfitness! That’s a beautiful way to celebrate your youth and your health.

  5. David dice:

    Great start to the 30s! Welcome to that club. Funny what athletes put themselves through – waking early, running like crazy on days off. It’s no party being fit.🙂 And your writing style cracks me up.🙂

  6. darnfitness dice:

    Whooaa! David, dude… you’re the first person EVER that calls me like that… me, an athlete? Just…whooaaa!

Responder

