Paleo / Primal Big Mac: attempt number one

Publicado: 26/05/2011 en Sin categoría

And it was a failure! It was a darn good sandwich, but wasn’t exactly like a Big Mac. Maybe that’s a good thing?

I teased before about the “bread” I was cooking (link has video). Here’s the recipe:

1/4 cup flax meal

1 Tbsp fat (I used lard, but any fat or oil would do)

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

Mix everything and microwave for 1:20 minutes. I stole that recipe from here.

Now, this bread has a cake texture, and a little bit too much moist for my taste – so I cut it on half and gave it a trip to the toaster-. I can see how this can hold a Big Mac, but what I cooked tonight was a MONSTER BURGER…

For the burgers I just mixed ground beef, salt and garlic powder. Then, cooked them in the stove. Also used Icerberg lettuce, Paleo mayo, mustard, and cheese. Oh, you ask for the Paleo Mayo? Just take any recipe from the net, but subtitute that cup of oil for a cup of lard.

Yes, I said lard. I’ll post that recipe later. That is what it looks like.

I put everything together, and it was HUGE! Like the Tower of Babel! That’s 14 oz of ground beef!

Of course I had to make the Paleo fries as well😛 Hey, I did fast for the entire day (doctor appointment, don’t ask).

It took me 40 minutes to eat the whole beast…

You now when you’re eating so much that you start to breath heavily and even your heart rate pumps up, and you look sort of a sleepy zombie eating and eating? Well, just like that.

Also, you know when you go workout at the gym and then shower there, towel dry your hair (making a mess) and then forget to comb it with your hands, and then you go to the grocery store and people sort of stare at you in there, then you come home and it takes to make a quick vid to realize you had been walking around in public with the hair-do of a maniac?????? Well, just like that too….

Paleo Big Mac summary:

– make the burgers a lot thinner.

– make the bun thicker, so can be cut in three parts.

– transform paleo mayo into secret sauce

– after my sauerkraut finally stops sauerkrauting fermenting, do it again with pickles and use those! Because McDonald’s pickles taste like toothpaste😦 “Colgate pickles” I call them. With “Curry cheese”😛

Other updates:

In the male PMS thing, my workout was kind of blah. But I did go to the gym! That’s like, 3 points at my favor, right? My wrist hurted, tho. Dammit.

In the wound-that-shall-not-be-named department (do not click unless you’re really really curious, but don’t tell me I didn’t warned you not to click it), I finally went to the doc and it was not what I thought it was. It’s just a wound, and the Doc called a myriad of possible causes. My favorite was “and this sometimes happens just because”. Lovely. At least the treatment is just an ointment. BTW, he didn’t even buy me a drink before the examination. I just hope he calls me back someday XD!!!

comentarios
  1. Yum Yucky dice:

    He used LARD!! wooohooo!! This is an interseting recipe. I really need to explore this whole Paleo thing a bit more. It’s like eating meat all the time, right? Oh hell, I dunno!!

  2. David dice:

    HOLY CRAP! That’s a big burger. I love how adventurous you are with trying new things and swapping out ingredients.

  3. Dawn dice:

    Oh my! That is one heck of a burger! There is no way I could tackle that – obviously some sort of “real man’s” burger. Your chips looked great though. Just had some yesterday at a Big Mac and they were the horrible little pencil thin chips. Yours looked much more appetizing.

  4. Kieran dice:

    Individuals trusted natural solutions are so beneficial
    and it also settled all of my well-being similar obstacles and that i
    merely have to reveal these with every body so you all far
    too usually takes the make the most of that.

Responder

